Bouchon Bakery Chocolate (Chip &) Chunk Cookies

Maybe it’s a little early in this blog to be posting duplicate recipes, but it’s my blog and that’s just how things are going to go around here. Besides, I take my chocolate chip cookies very seriously – if there’s a recipe out there better than my go-to, I need to know about it. So when I saw the Bouchon Bakery Chocolate Chip & Chunk Cookie recipe, I was intrigued. The reviews were glowing, the pictures were beautiful, and everyone seems to be obsessed with Bouchon Bakery. It’s a straightforward enough recipe, but different enough to be worth trying out.

lonecookie

I’ll just skip to the end here: I still like my lovely Jacques Torres chocolate cookie better. But these were tasty and interesting and I’m glad I gave them a go. The main difference between them and any other chocolate chip cookie is the molasses. There’s not much, just over a teaspoon, but it comes through really nicely. The touch of bitterness is a welcome twist on the classic, and I think for some people this could be an instant new favorite.

startingout

Bouchon Bakery Chocolate Chunk Cookies
(Adapted from The Bouchon Bakery Cookbook, via Five and Spice)

238 g all-purpose flour (1 1/2 cups + 3 tablespoons)
2.3 g baking soda (1/2 teaspoon)
3 g table salt (1 teaspoon)
134 g dark brown sugar (1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons)
12 g unsulfured blackstrap molasses (1 3/4 teaspoons)
104 g granulated sugar (1/2 cup + 1 teaspoon)
225 g bittersweet chocolate, chopped into chunks
167 g unsalted butter, at room temperature (5.9 oz)
60 g eggs (I just used 1 large egg)
flaky sea salt for sprinkling

plate

But I thought you said Chocolate Chip and Chunk Cookies? This is another New Zealand problem. Chocolate chips in this country are quite frankly not worth it. They are either gross compound chocolate things, which is basically sugar and vegetable oil and artificial flavors. Why would you ruin a perfectly good cookie? And then there’s Cadbury, but those are such massive chips that they’re basically chunks anyway, and besides, I don’t buy Cadbury because of the whole palm oil thing. Long story short, it is just way easier to buy a bar of nice dark chocolate and chop it up into many differently-sized bits. But you can do half chips and half chunks if you want!

dough

1. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, and baking soda. Set aside.

2. In another small bowl, combine the molasses and the sugars. You want the molasses as evenly distributed as possible, but don’t worry if there are still a few little lumps. You just don’t want huge patches that aren’t mixed in.

3. In a large bowl, cream the butter until smooth and (in the words of the original recipe) about the consistency of mayonnaise. Add in the sugar mixture and beat until fluffy, about three or four minutes with an electric mixer. Add the egg and beat in until just combined.

4. Add the dry ingredients in two additions, stirring until just combined each time. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and make sure all the flour is incorporated. Fold in the chocolate.

5. Cover the dough tightly with cling film and refrigerate. I left this overnight, but the recipe recommends just half an hour. I would suggest no more than an hour or two – I think mine would have risen a bit more if I hadn’t waited so long to bake them.

6. When you’re read to bake, preheat the oven to 325 Fahrenheit (160 Celsius). These are designed to be very large cookies: just six cookies per batch! If you make them that big, you’ll want to put just three per parchment-covered baking sheet. Sprinkle them with a bit of sea salt, and bake for 18-20 minutes until golden all over and just set in the middle. I made my usual little cookies, which took about 8 minutes to bake. If you make them my way, you only want about a couple tablespoons of dough for each and you can bake them with only an inch or two between them on the trays.

7. Let cool for 5-10 minutes on the baking sheet, then transfer to a rack to cool completely.

bitten

 

One thought on “Bouchon Bakery Chocolate (Chip &) Chunk Cookies

Leave a Reply

