Nutella Cookies & How Not to Behave in a Bar

These were an experiment. I mean, I’ve made something similar before, but that was years ago and they were good but not anything I’d felt the need to repeat. But this week I had a bunch of Nutella lying around that was about to go off, and I figured it was time to try again.

halved

And these are great. So great, in fact, that a big group of drunken idiots stole one of the boxes I’d brought in for my coworkers. I feel like this goes without saying, but if there is a box of cookies behind the bar, and you did not bring them in with you, they are not yours to eat. You’re having a nice night out. You can buy some dessert. Your bartenders are having a very busy night and you’ve robbed them of their sugar fix. A sugar fix that I spent my whole morning putting together for them. (Also, those people definitely did not get any more drinks that night, so there’s that.)

aerial

Aaaanyway. These are a classic double-chocolate cookie with a hazelnut twist: a little crunchy, a little chewy, and awesome straight out of the oven when the chocolate is melting everywhere. I made them with chopped hazelnut milk chocolate, but they would be easy enough with toasted hazelnuts and milk chocolate chips instead. For those of you unlucky people without access to Whittaker’s.

Nutella Cookies
1/2 cup (1 stick or 113 grams) unsalted butter, room temperature
3/4 cup Nutella (or any other chocolate-hazelnut spread)
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 egg
1 1/2 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
375 grams hazelnut milk chocolate, coarsely chopped
(Note: I used 1 1/2 slabs of Whittaker’s hazelnut chocolate. This is the easiest way, if you have access to milk chocolate with hazelnuts. Otherwise, I would go half milk chocolate chips and half coarsely chopped, toasted hazelnuts. About 1 cup of each.)

1. Preheat oven to 175 degrees Celsius (350 Fahrenheit). Line a cookie sheet or two with baking parchment.

2. Whisk together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, cocoa, and salt together. Set aside.

3. Cream the butter. Add the Nutella and beat until smooth. Add the sugars and beat until light and fluffy.

4. Beat in the egg until thoroughly combined. Mix in the vanilla.

5. Add the dry ingredients, mixing until just combined. Fold in the chocolate and hazelnuts.

6. Form the cookie dough into 1-inch balls. Arrange on the cookie sheet – they spread a bit, so I did just 8 to a sheet. Bake until set in the middle, about 10 minutes. Let cool on sheets for 2-3 minutes, then move to cooling racks to cool completely. Or eat them warm. Your call.

seven

 

7 thoughts on “Nutella Cookies & How Not to Behave in a Bar

    • I do exactly the same haha. Which is why if it’s in my house, I have to bake it into something to save myself from myself.

    • I never used to use much nutella in my baking but I’m getting really into it! And I certainly understand the temptation…but I’m sure you’d ask nicely instead, or at least just take one 🙂

Leave a Reply

