Tropical Island (White Chocolate, Macadamia, & Coconut) Cookies

Hello from Australia! I still haven’t quite made it to my final destination (Byron Bay), but so far I’m having a great time here. I’ve been busy with my family and the amazing Great Barrier Reef trip we went on and I haven’t so much as stepped into a kitchen for over a week (not an exaggeration), but luckily I have a couple recipes saved up for you guys. Starting with this one.

plateful

Full disclosure: I’m not a huge fan of these cookies. Not because they aren’t delicious – I wouldn’t put them up here if they weren’t! – but because I don’t actually like shredded coconut in my baked goods. But sometimes, when you bake as much and as often as I do, you find yourself eating too much sugar, and the easiest way to counter that is by baking things you don’t like. Thus the coconut. And once I was putting in one tropical ingredient, the macadamia and white chocolate just seemed right.

ingredients

Tropical Island Cookies

5 ounces (140 grams) unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup shredded coconut
250 grams white chocolate, chopped
1/2 cup macadamia nuts, chopped (I used roasted, salted nuts, which worked beautifully)

dough

1. Whisk flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl.

2. Cream butter and sugars together. If you have a mixer, go nuts – give the mixture a good five minutes to get nice and pale and fluffy. If, like me, you have a wooden spoon and a bad wrist, mix it as long as you can stand to. The fluffier this is the better, but as long as there are no lumps, you’ll be fine.

3. Beat in eggs one at a time, mixing until fully incorporated. Mix in the vanilla. Add the dry ingredients and stir until just combined. Fold in chocolate, coconut, and macadamia nuts

4. Chill dough, covered, for at least 2 hours, but preferably overnight.

5. When you’re ready to bake, preheat oven to 350 Fahrenheit. Line a cookie sheet or two with baking parchment. Bake until set in the middle and golden brown around the edges, 8-11 minutes.

single

4 thoughts on “Tropical Island (White Chocolate, Macadamia, & Coconut) Cookies

Leave a Reply

