Old-Fashioned Chocolate Chip Cookies

pileHi guys! Predictably I’m behind on my posting. I’m currently living in a hostel in Byron Bay, Australia. It’s sunny and beautiful, but I’m working with a shared kitchen, a communal toaster oven, and a seriously tiny food budget, so I haven’t exactly been doing tons of baking. I’m probably more upset about it than you are. Anyway, I’m hoping to get some done in the next couple weeks, but in the meantime, I have another old post for you!

aerial single

These were born out of failure. I wanted to make Old-Fashioned macarons – you know, like the classic bourbon, sugar, bitters, and orange cocktail. But I ignored the first rule of making macarons: don’t do it without a scale. I tried. I failed. Twice. But I had some really nice Buffalo Trace bourbon left over, and some ingredients to use up before leaving Wellington, so I made these instead. They were pretty damn tasty.

stack

They are, I should warn you, a bit boozy. Not get-you-drunk boozy – a lot of the alcohol should bake out, I think – but there’s a definite bourbon flavor to them. If you like drinking Old-Fashioneds, you’ll like them. (Conversely, if you like the sound of these, you should start drinking Old-Fashioneds. There’s a reason that drink is a classic.) If you prefer your alcohol barely detectable, you might not be such a fan.

components

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Chip Cookies
142 grams (5 ounces) unsalted butter
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 egg
2 teaspoons vanilla
3/4 teaspoon flaky sea salt (plus more to sprinkle on top before baking)
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/2 cups+ 2 tablespoons flour
3 tablespoons bourbon
1 generous teaspoon grated orange zest
250 grams bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped

1. In a small mixing bowl, combine the sea salt, baking soda, baking powder, and flour. Set aside.

2. In a medium mixing bowl, cream the butter until smooth. Add the sugars and beat until light and fluffy.

3. Add the egg, beating thoroughly. Mix in the vanilla and then the bourbon.

4. Stir in the dry mixture until just combined. Fold in the chocolate and orange zest. Chill, covered, for at least 2 hours, preferably overnight.

5. When you’re ready to bake, preheat the oven to 175 Celsius (350 Fahrenheit). Line a cookie sheet with parchment.

6. Form your cookie dough into one-inch balls, arranging them on the sheet about 2 inches apart. Sprinkle with sea salt if you like. Bake for 8-11 minutes, until set and golden. Cool for a couple minutes on baking sheets, then move to racks to cool completely.

aerial

2 thoughts on “Old-Fashioned Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

