Strawberry & Dark Chocolate Muffins

Hello again! I’ve really dropped the ball on my Halloween baking this year – I had grand intentions of skull cookies, which I will still probably bake this week, but I obviously didn’t get anything done in time for this blog. So it goes. I’ve had a very busy weekend – it was my 25th birthday, so lots of socializing and eating and drinking. A friend of mine even baked me cupcakes from this blog! Such a great birthday present. But I didn’t want to neglect you guys, so here’s a slightly older recipe for you.

berries

I’m not usually a huge fan of baking with fruit. A bit of orange zest here and there, sure. Apple pie, definitely. But most of the time I’d really rather have the fruit by itself than waste it in baked goods. However, over the past few months I’ve become inordinately fond of berry and chocolate muffins. And so, when I got to Byron Bay and strawberries were unbelievably cheap, I thought I’d try my hand at making some myself.

trio

I looked at a ton of recipes while deciding how to make these – a couple from Smitten Kitchen, of course, but also some classic New Zealand ones, because the kiwis are really good at their raspberry and white chocolate muffins. I also wanted to experiment with some different flours, but with my budget the easiest way to do that was to just buy a flour mix from the bulk store. As such, these were made with part all-purpose flour and part a bread mix composed of wheat, spelt, oat, bran, flax, and millet. You can use just all-purpose, or you can use part wholemeal or bran or whatever takes your fancy. I was also making these in the hostel, so they are one-bowl muffins. If you’re a bit neurotic (like me, when I’m not in a communal kitchen), you can mix the dry ingredients separately. But you don’t really have to.

single2

Strawberry & Dark Chocolate Muffins

1 1/3 cups buttermilk
1/3 cup vegetable oil (I used canola)
2 1/2 cups flour (either all-purpose or a mix of different types: see above)
1 egg
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cup chopped strawberries (I used fresh, but frozen should be fine)
3/4 cup dark chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 375. Grease or line a muffin pan and set aside.

2. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together buttermilk, egg, oil, and brown sugar.

3. Add the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt to the wet ingredients all at once. Stir until just combined.

4. Fold in the strawberries and chocolate. Pour batter into the prepared muffin pan, filling the wells about 3/4 of the way to allow for rising.

5. Bake until tops are golden and a tester comes out clean, about 15-20 minutes depending on your oven and the size of your muffin pan. Let cool for 5-10 minutes in the pan, then serve warm or move to racks to cool completely.

single1

Leave a Reply

