Smoke & Fire Cookies (Vegan!)

I know I’ve waxed poetic about Fix and Fogg before, but really, these guys are my favorite. When I was back in Wellington I made sure to stock up on some of their excellent peanut butter, and when I went to their adorable storefront to buy a jar, the guy working offered me a sample of the new spiced peanut butter they’re making. Spiced peanut butter! It sounds weird, and it is, but it is AMAZING. Needless to say I bought a jar.

IMG_9784

I know what you’re thinking – that’s nice and all, but I’m not in Wellington, so I guess I can’t bake these cookies. Well, no. While I am 100% certain these would be better made with actual F&F Smoke and Fire, I actually made them with regular old chunky peanut butter and an assortment of spices to imitate the real stuff. Because that one jar of spicy peanut butter I brought back? Yeah, I ate all of that. With a spoon. In about a week. And so until Fix and Fogg start exporting (please start exporting!) this is what I have to tide me over.

IMG_9792

IMG_9781

Smoke & Fire Cookies

1/2 cup crunchy peanut butter
1/4 cup coconut oil, very soft or melted
1/2 cup raw sugar
1 tablespoon molasses
2 tablespoons honey
1 tablespoon chia seeds
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons smoked paprika
1/4-1/2 teaspoon ground chilli (to taste, but remember that the spice will be more pronounced after baking)
200 grams dark chocolate, coarsely chopped

Note: If you are lucky enough to be making these with actual F&F Smoke and Fire, replace all the crunchy peanut butter with the spicy stuff and omit both the paprika and the chillie. And then send me some of the cookies.

1. Grind the chia seeds in a spice grinder. Stir the ground seeds into three tablespoons of water, and put the mixture in the fridge to set. After about 10-15 minutes it should have a nice thick eggy texture, which is what you want.

2. In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, paprika, and chilli. Set aside.

3. In another bowl, cream together the peanut butter and coconut oil until smooth. Beat in the sugar, molasses, and honey.

4. Take the chia mixture out of the fridge and stir a pinch of baking powder into it before adding to the batter. Beat in the chia egg, then the vanilla.

5. Add the flour mixture and stir until just combined. Fold in the chocolate chunks. Cover and refrigerate for 1-2 hours.

6. When you’re ready to bake, preheat your oven to 160 Celsius (325 Fahrenheit) and line a cookie sheet or two with baking parchment. Arrange rounded tablespoons of dough on the baking sheets about 2 inches apart. Top each ball of dough with some sea salt.

7. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes, until the cookies are set and browned on the bottom. These can go from nearly done to burnt quite quickly, so I would err on the side of underbaking. Let cool slightly on trays, then transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely.

IMG_9779

Leave a Reply

